A musical written by ChatGPT

Jennifer Turliuk
2 min readJan 20, 2023

--

I asked ChatGPT to “write me a musical about technology overuse”. Here is what it produced. Not bad!

“Act 1:

Scene 1: A bustling city street, people are seen walking around with their heads down, engrossed in their smartphones.

Opening song: “Digital World”
(Verse 1)
In this digital world we live in,
We’re connected, but we’re also lost,
We’re always scrolling, always clicking,
But what is the cost?

(Chorus) We’re addicted to the screens,
We can’t put them down,
We’re losing touch with reality,
We’re in a digital drown.

Scene 2: A young man, JIM, is sitting in a coffee shop, staring at his phone. His friend, KATE, enters and notices how engrossed he is in his phone.

Kate: “Jim, what are you doing? You’re always on that thing!”

Jim: “I’m just checking my social media, it’s how I stay connected with my friends and the world.”

Kate: “But you’re missing out on the world around you. You’re always so focused on your phone, you’re not even present in our conversations anymore.”

Scene 3: Jim starts to realize that Kate is right and that he needs to take a break from technology. He starts to disconnect and focus on the world around him. He starts to notice the beauty of the city and the people around him.

Jim: “I never realized how much I was missing by being so engrossed in my phone. I need to find a balance.”

Act 2:

Scene 1: Jim starts to experiment with different ways to disconnect from technology. He starts to go for walks in nature, read books, and spend time with friends and family.

Scene 2: A group of friends, including Jim, are sitting around a campfire, roasting marshmallows. They’re all laughing and talking, enjoying each other’s company.

Jim: “I’m so glad I took a break from technology. I’m having so much more fun now that I’m present in the moment.”

Scene 3: Jim’s friends start to notice the positive changes in him and they start to disconnect from technology too. They start to spend more time together and enjoy each other’s company.

Closing song: “Disconnect to Connect”
(Verse 1)
We need to disconnect,
To connect with the world,
We need to put down our screens,
To see what’s truly unfurled.

(Chorus)
Let’s take a break from technology,
And live in the moment,
Let’s be present, let’s be free,
And find our true component.

The musical ends with the friends sitting around the campfire, looking up at the stars and enjoying each other’s company, free from technology.”

I think my favourite line is “And find our true component.”

--

--

Jennifer Turliuk

Investor | Entrepreneur | Technologist | Author | Speaker | Climate Tech, Edtech, Impact, AI. Partner, Climate Angels & Climate Capital Syndicate